top of page
Search

Music on My Mind

Picture with more black was done with music.

My final project was to complete some paintings while listening to music. I then painted some pictures while there was no music. I did this over a few days right after work; I was tired and agitated. I wanted to see if my mood would change, just by listening to music, and then analyze how my paintings changed. Procedure- Day 1, I painted a free paint with music and then I painted using the pour paint technique with no music. Day 2, I painted using the pour paint technique with music and I free painted with no music. On the third day, I free painted and pour painted with music and followed a YouTube video. Some pictures, I painted to soft, soothing music, some I painted with no music. I wanted to see how I felt when the music was playing, and if those emotions could be seen through my art. In the end, after analyzing my work, when I listened to music, my body felt calm, regulation and more attentive at my task. My paintings seemed to be more detailed and authentic; so even making me connect the picture to certain things in my life. This was especially highlighted on the third day when I followed the video guide to paint. The times that I painted but didn’t include music, I saw the same creativity, regulation, and focus, but for some reason, the paintings were dark. Over just those few days, my mind and body felt better, especially when music was playing because it helped me lighten my mood.


During this course, we learned that music can affect our mood. Music can make us happy, decrease anxiety, and bring renewed optimism. Music can also help us develop more regulation and control of our emotions because music directly affects mood and our emotions. It also can help with memory and focus. When music or art is involved, it can be a motivator to complete tasks and tow connect new memories with emotions. According to the article by Jonides, (2008) “Musicians showed more brain activation using rote rehearsal, while the non-musicians showed more brain activation using elaborative rehearsal...music and acting training, implements a strategy for focusing attention that enhances memory, and that this skill transfers to other cognitive functions involving memory.” This is the reason why I also painted with music and followed a video; this helped me to test whether I was more focused and regulated.


 

Finished paintings...

The flower vase and small white and blue pour painting were done with music and following a YouTube video.






The blue pour painting (at the top) and the painting of the mountains was painted without music. The abstract painting with the shapes was painted with music.





12 views

1 Comment


blkfizzlz
Dec 13, 2021

Nice

Like
bottom of page